

Minutes Tempe Fire Public Safety Personnel Retirement System Board October 6, 2022

Minutes of the Tempe Fire Public Safety Personnel Retirement System (PSPRS) Board meeting hosted virtually via Cisco WebEx and in person at the Human Resources Conference Room located at 20 E. 6th Street Tempe, AZ 85281 on Thursday October 6, 2022 at 2:00 p.m.

Board Members Present (via Cisco WebEx): Board Members Present (in person): Board Members Absent:

Andy Arredondo Keith Burke Johnny Tse

Don Jongewaard Mike Scheidt

<u>City Staff Present (via Cisco WebEx):</u> <u>City Staff Present (in person):</u> <u>Legal Counsel Present (via Cisco</u>

WebEx):

Rebecca Strisko, Human Resources Director Sarah Jenkins, Management Assistant Lesli Sorensen

Matt Quick, HR Specialist Tammy Milhon, HR Specialist

Chair Keith Burke called the meeting to order at 2:07 p.m.

1. Consideration of Meeting Minutes

Motion by Mike Scheidt to approve the June 2, 2022 Fire PSPRS Board Meeting Minutes; second by Andy Arredondo. Motion passed on a voice vote 4-0.

Ayes: Chair Burke; Boardmembers Arredondo, Jongewaard and Scheidt

Navs: None

Absent: Boardmember Tse

2. Motion to Adjourn to Executive Session, if necessary

No Executive Session was held.

3. Board Expenditures – 2nd Quarter 2022

Board Secretary Rebecca Strisko stated that information on Board expenditures for the second quarter of 2022 was included in the Board meeting packet. There was no further discussion.

4. New Members

Motion by Don Jongewaard to approve the new member applications of Ciara Crowley (pre-existing condition), Meghan Farrell (pre-existing condition), Arthur Felix (pre-existing condition), Daniel Laufer (pre-existing condition), Jacob Manoguerra (pre-existing condition), Daniel Moe (pre-existing condition), Justin Prigge (pre-existing condition); Second by Andy Arredondo. Motion passed on a voice vote 4-0.

Ayes: Chair Burke; Boardmembers Arredondo, Jongewaard and Scheidt

Nays: None

Absent: Boardmember Tse

5. Board Appointment

Ms. Strisko said that Keith Burke was appointed as the mayor's designee, and Chair to term effective August 18, 2022 to June 30, 2024.

6. 2023 Meeting & Submittal Deadline Schedule

Ms. Strisko said that the draft 2023 Meeting & Submittal Deadline Schedule was included in the packet for the Board's consideration. There was no further discussion. Motion by Mike Scheidt to approve the 2023 Meeting & Submittal Deadline Schedule; second by Don Jongewaard.

Motion passed on a voice vote 4-0.

Ayes: Chair Burke; Boardmembers Arredondo, Jongewaard and Scheidt

Nays: None

Absent: Boardmember Tse

7. PSPRS Update

Ms. Strisko said that the Taxation Changes for Public Safety Cancer Insurance was emailed to Boardmembers and included in the board packet.

8. Future Meeting Date

The next meeting is scheduled for November 3, 2022.

9. Future Agenda Items

There were no future agenda items.

10. Public Appearances

There were no public appearances.

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Don Jongewaard; second by Second by Mike Scheidt. Motion passed on a voice vote 4-0.

Ayes: Chair Burke; Boardmembers Arredondo, Jongewaard and Scheidt

Nays: None

Absent: Boardmember Tse

The meeting adjourned at 2:14 p.m.

Rebecca Strisko, Local Board Secretary