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INFORMATION ON APPLICATION TO SET ASIDE JUDGMENT   

 

On fulfillment of all the conditions of probation or sentence imposed by the Court, pursuant to A.R.S. §13-905, you may 
apply to have the judgment of guilt set aside.  Your attorney or probation officer may apply on your behalf.  If you were 
convicted of multiple offenses, each case and each individual charge must be addressed. If you have more than one case 
number, you must file a separate application for each case number. Note that a conviction for certain offenses cannot be 
set aside, and the granting of an application to set aside judgment will not affect any action taken by the Arizona Motor 
Vehicle Department against your driving privilege or against your driver’s license record.   
 
If the Court grants the application to set aside the judgment of guilt, the Court’s order must include a Certificate of Second 
Chance if you have not previously received a Certificate of Second Chance for any other judgment, of any kind, including a 
judgment on a felony offense.  Additional details regarding the Certificate of Second Chance is provided by A.R.S.  § 13-
905(K). 
 
The Court will not charge a fee for filing an application to set aside the judgment. You may obtain the application directly 
from the Court or on-line by accessing Tempe Municipal Court at www.tempe.gov/court.  When completing this form, you 
must include the following information: your full name as shown on the original complaint, current address and day-time 
phone number, email address (if applicable), date of birth, case sentence imposed, and your signature.  An application will 
not be granted unless all requirements of the sentence have been satisfied, including all monetary obligations. 
 
The State and victim may file a written response opposing your application within 60 days after the application is filed.  If an 
objection is filed, the Court may set a hearing, and if so, the hearing will normally be set no later than 120 days after your 
application is filed.  If your application is denied, you may file a new application only after satisfying all reasons stated for 
the denial.  
 
Granting an application to set aside judgment does not mean the Court will destroy records of your arrest or conviction. The 
charge(s) for which you seek this request may still be used in any subsequent prosecution by the State, or any of its 
subdivisions. 
 
Once the Court records are purged in accordance with the records retention schedule, you will be required to contact the 
Criminal History Records Section of the Arizona Department of Public Safety to obtain the information necessary for the 
Court to determine if a set aside judgment may be granted. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.tempe.gov/court
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STATE OF ARIZONA  
PLAINTIFF         CASE #:       
 
VS.                                                                                                                
                                                                                                                    APPLICATION TO SET ASIDE JUDGMENT 
 
                                
DEFENDANT   DATE OF BIRTH     

 

Defendant, in connection with the above-captioned case, requests as follows, THAT: 
1. The judgment of guilt be set aside. 
2. Defendant be released from all penalties and disabilities resulting from the conviction, EXCEPT that the conviction 

may be pleaded and proved in any subsequent prosecution of Defendant for any offense as if the judgment of guilt 
had not been set aside.    

This application is made in conformance with the Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-905 and is addressed to the Judge who 
pronounced sentence or imposed probation or to said Judge’s successor in office. 
 
Applicant:        Telephone #:         

Address:          Email:        

The applicant is:  ☐ Defendant ☐ Attorney for Defendant  ☐ Probation Officer    

The Defendant was convicted of     on     in the Tempe Municipal Court and the 

following sentence was imposed:             

1. Have you complied with all required terms of the sentence including all probation, employment, classes, community 
restitution, victim restitution or other monetary obligations, drug/alcohol testing, or other terms?  
☐ Yes   ☐ No.  If no, please explain:           
               

2. Have you previously applied to set aside this conviction?   ☐ Yes  ☐ No.  If so, what was the date of your last 
application?       

3. Are there any prior, pending, or subsequent criminal cases against you?   ☐ Yes  ☐ No.  If yes, please explain:  
               

 4. Is there anything you would like the court to take into consideration (attach pertinent documentation)?  
                

5. Have you previously received a Certificate of Second Chance, for any other judgment, of any kind, including a 
judgment on a felony offense?   ☐ Yes  ☐ No.  If yes, please explain:    
               
If your application is granted, the Court’s Order Setting Aside Judgment must include a Certificate of Second 
Chance if you have not previously received a Certificate of Second Chance for any other judgment, of any kind, 
including a judgment on a felony offense.  Additional details about the Certificate of Second Chance is provided by 
A.R.S. § 13-905(K). 
 

I declare under penalty of perjury that the information provided in this application and any attachments is true and 
correct. 

 
                 
Applicant’s Name Printed     Applicant’s Signature and Date 
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STATE OF ARIZONA  
PLAINTIFF         CASE #:       
 
VS. 
                                         ORDER REGARDING APPLICATION TO SET 
          ASIDE JUDGMENT AND CERTIFICATE OF 
                               SECOND CHANCE  
DEFENDANT   DATE OF BIRTH    
          
The Court, having read the foregoing application, and in conformance with the statutes, being fully apprised of the premise, 
IT IS ORDERED: 
 

☐ GRANTING the Application to Set Aside Judgment and further ordering: 

1. That the judgment of Defendant’s guilt is set aside. 
2. That the Defendant’s accusation, citation, or complaint be and the same is dismissed 
3. The Defendant be released from all penalties and disabilities resulting from the conviction or plea other than those 

imposed by the Department of Transportation pursuant to A.R.S. 28-3304, 28-3305, 28-3306, 28-3307, 28-3308, 
28-3312, and 28-3319. 
 

☐ DENYING the Application to Set Aside Judgment for the following reasons:                    
  
                 
  
                 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SECOND CHANCE 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED: 

☐ GRANTING a Certificate of Second Chance, and accordingly, pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-905(K): 

1. Unless specifically excluded by A.R.S. § 13-905(K), the defendant is released from all barriers and disabilities in 
obtaining an occupational license issued under title 32 that resulted from the conviction if the defendant is otherwise 
qualified; 

2. An employer of the defendant is provided with all of the protections that are provided pursuant to section A.R.S. § 
12-558.03;  

3. Another person or an entity that provides housing to the defendant is provided with all of the protections limiting the 
introduction of evidence that are provided to an employer pursuant to A.R.S. § 12-558.03, subsection b; and 

4. This Certificate of Second Chance is not a recommendation or sponsorship for, or a promotion of the defendant 
when applying for an occupational license, employment or housing. 

 
☐ DENYING a Certificate of Second Chance. 

  ☐   Defendant has previously received such certificate. 
 
 
 
                 
 Date        Tempe Municipal Court Judge 


