

Transportation Commission

The Transportation Commission advises and makes recommendations to the City Council and assists City departments and the City Manager regarding:

- a balanced transportation system within Tempe which incorporates all forms of transportation in a unified, interconnected manner and complements land use, making a positive environmental impact through reduction of energy consumption, air pollution and congestion, while promoting economic development and providing mobility for all persons, including elderly and disabled;
- appropriate performance standards and benchmarks for use in evaluating the City's transportation system and program;
- transportation plans, projects and ordinances;
- elements of prioritized, unified Operating and Capital Improvement Program budgets for transportation; and,
- a forum for public hearings and other public involvement mechanisms to assure community-based transportation plans, projects and issues, and to meet all Federal and other guidelines for public involvement in transportation projects where applicable.

The Transportation Commission is composed of 15 members. The Commission may include one member who is affiliated with Arizona State University and is not a resident of Tempe and one member who is employed in Tempe and is not a resident of Tempe. Members are appointed for a term of three years. (City Code, Chapter 2, Article V, Division 8)

Name	Term Expires	
Vacant	12/31/2025	
Goronkin, Pam	12/31/2024	
King, David A.	12/31/2024	Member who is Affiliated with ASU and is not a Tempe Resident
Nelson, Amanda	12/31/2024	
Porter, JC	12/31/2024	Member who is Employed in Tempe and is not a Tempe Resident
Schelstraete, Peter H.	12/31/2024	
Hocking, Dawn	12/31/2025	
Hubbell, Paul	12/31/2025	
Miller, Ph.D., Robert J.	12/31/2025	
Milne, Stevie	12/31/2025	
Cox, Jacob	12/31/2026	
Files, Kelsey	12/31/2026	
Lauer, Claire	12/31/2026	
Sokolowski, David	12/31/2026	
Strait, Anthony	12/31/2026	

Staff Liaison: Sue Taaffe, Senior Management Assistant (480) 350-8663 Shelly Seyler, Deputy Transportation and Sustainability Director (480) 350-8854