

Historic Preservation Commission

The Tempe Historic Preservation Commission advises the City Council in all matters concerning historic preservation. The mission of the Commission is to provide protection for significant properties and archaeological sites that represent important aspects of Tempe's heritage; to enhance the character of the community by taking such properties and sites into account during development; and, to assist owners in the preservation and restoration of their properties.

The Historic Preservation Commission also:

- Reviews applications for the designation of landmarks, historic properties, and historic districts and makes recommendations to the Development Review Commission and City Council.
- Reviews and makes decisions on applications for proposed alterations, new construction, demolition, or removal
 affecting landmarks, historic properties, or properties located within an historic district.
- Forwards recommendations to the appropriate decision-making body as a part of the staff report regarding the request.

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of nine members, meeting certain qualifications as set forth below, appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council:

- Three at-large members who are City residents with a demonstrated interest in or knowledge of historic preservation.
- Five professional members who are City residents drawn from the following disciplines, with no more than two such professionals from the same discipline: architecture, architectural history, archaeology, historic preservation law, history, landscape architecture, or other related field.
- One representative from the Four Southern Tribes Cultural Resource Working Group, who is responsible for nominating a designee.

Historic Preservation Commission members serve a term of three years, except that two of the initial members, upon appointment, are designated to serve terms of two years each. In addition, two other initial members are designated to serve first terms of one year. Those subsequently appointed serve regular terms of three years. The Commission conducts no fewer than four regular meetings in a calendar year and may call special meetings at the discretion of the Commission Chair or five or more members of the Commission. (City Code, Chapter 14A, Section 14A-3; Zoning and Development Code, Part 1, Chapter 3, Section 1-304)

Name	Term Expires	
Fackler, David (Dave)	03/31/2025	Professional Member – Architecture
Kurooka, Kiyomi	03/31/2025	Professional Member – Architecture
Robinson, Jean	03/31/2025	At-Large Member
Davis, Erin	03/31/2026	At-Large Member
Williams, Reylynne	03/31/2026	Four Southern Tribes Cultural Resource Working Group Representative
Woodson, Kyle	03/31/2026	Professional Member – Archaeology
Justice, Mariah	03/31/2027	Professional Member – History
Lamp, Kathleen	03/31/2027	Professional Member – Archaeology
Melcher, Kriste	03/31/2027	At-Large Member

Staff Liaison:

Zachary J. Lechner, Ph.D., Senior Planner/Historic Preservation Officer (480) 350-8870