MEMORANDUM

TO: Historic Preservation Commission

FROM: Zachary J. Lechner, Senior Planner/Historic Preservation Officer (ex. 8870)

DATE: April 10, 2024

SUBJECT: Agenda Item 4: Introduction of New Commission Members



On March 21, 2024, Tempe City Council approved Mayor Corey Woods' nominations of three individuals to fill vacancies on the Historic Preservation Commission. Their three-year terms began on April 1. On behalf of the City of Tempe, the HPO warmly welcomes them to the Commission:

Kriste Melcher (At-Large Member)

Commissioner Melcher has been involved in real estate in the Valley and lived in Tempe for over 30 years. She is a residential real estate broker, but she has also worked and specialized in property management, new home sales, commercial real estate and development, foreclosure and bank-owned (REO) properties, and international real estate. She holds a degree in real estate from Arizona State University and has received extra training, designations, certifications, and awards in her field. She previously served as a Historic Preservation Commission member.

Mariah Justice (Professional Member—History)

Commissioner Justice is employed at Logan Simpson as their Deputy Historic Preservation Program Lead. She previously worked as the Certified Local Government (CLG) Coordinator in the Florida State Historic Preservation Office, where she oversaw the nation's fifth largest CLG program, with a total of 83 CLG communities. Commissioner Justice received a Master of Science in Architectural Conservation degree from the University of Edinburgh. She meets the Secretary of the Interior's Professional Qualifications for History and Architectural History. She has lived in Tempe for two years.

• Katherine ("Kassie") Lamp (Professional Member—Archaeology)

Commissioner Lamp is an Associate Professor of Rhetoric at Arizona State University. She has demonstrated interest in historic preservation in her published research, which builds on scholarship in architectural history, landscape architecture, geography, and rhetoric to consider how our built environment projects what it means to be a member of a community and how our surroundings promote diversity and inclusivity. While her research largely takes the form of critique, she welcomes the opportunity to take a proactive approach to historic preservation in the Tempe community. Commissioner Lamp has degrees in classical archaeology (BA) and Communication (BA, MA, PhD). She has lived in Tempe for 13 years.

The attached document shows the HPC member roster as of April 1, 2024.

ATTACHMENT:

1. List of Commission members and staff



Historic Preservation Commission

The Tempe Historic Preservation Commission advises the City Council in all matters concerning historic preservation. The mission of the Commission is to provide protection for significant properties and archaeological sites that represent important aspects of Tempe's heritage; to enhance the character of the community by taking such properties and sites into account during development; and, to assist owners in the preservation and restoration of their properties.

The Historic Preservation Commission also:

- Reviews applications for the designation of landmarks, historic properties, and historic districts and makes recommendations to the Development Review Commission and City Council.
- Reviews and makes decisions on applications for proposed alterations, new construction, demolition, or removal affecting landmarks, historic properties, or properties located within an historic district.
- Forwards recommendations to the appropriate decision-making body as a part of the staff report regarding the request.

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of nine members, meeting certain qualifications as set forth below, appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council:

- Three at-large members who are City residents with a demonstrated interest in or knowledge of historic preservation.
- Five professional members who are City residents drawn from the following disciplines, with no more than two such
 professionals from the same discipline: architecture, architectural history, archaeology, historic preservation law, history,
 landscape architecture, or other related field.
- One representative from the Four Southern Tribes Cultural Resource Working Group, who is responsible for nominating a designee.

Historic Preservation Commission members serve a term of three years, except that two of the initial members, upon appointment, are designated to serve terms of two years each. In addition, two other initial members are designated to serve first terms of one year. Those subsequently appointed serve regular terms of three years. The Commission conducts no fewer than four regular meetings in a calendar year and may call special meetings at the discretion of the Commission Chair or five or more members of the Commission. (City Code, Chapter 14A, Section 14A-3; Zoning and Development Code, Part 1, Chapter 3, Section 1-304)

Name	Term Expires	
Fackler, David (Dave)	03/31/2025	Professional Member – Architecture
Kurooka, Kiyomi	03/31/2025	Professional Member – Architecture
Robinson, Jean	03/31/2025	At-Large Member
Davis, Erin	03/31/2026	At-Large Member
Williams, Reylynne	03/31/2026	Four Southern Tribes Cultural Resource Working Group Representative
Woodson, Kyle	03/31/2026	Professional Member – Archaeology
Justice, Mariah	03/31/2027	Professional Member – History
Lamp, Katherine (Kassie)	03/31/2027	Professional Member – Archaeology
Melcher, Kriste	03/31/2027	At-Large Member

Staff Liaison:

Zachary J. Lechner, Ph.D., Senior Planner/Historic Preservation Officer (480) 350-8870