

Minutes City of Tempe Meeting of the Transportation Commission January 9, 2024

Minutes of the meeting of Tempe Transportation Commission held on Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 7:30 a.m. via Cisco Webex and at the Tempe Transportation Center located at 200 E. Fifth Street, Tempe AZ 85281.

(MEMBERS) Present:

Stevie MilnePam GoronkinJC PorterJacob CoxPaul HubbellPeter SchelstraeteAmanda NelsonDavid KingRobert MillerKelsey FilesClaire LauerDawn HockingDavid SokolowskiJonathan Bates

(MEMBERS) Absent:

James Dwyer

City Staff Present:

Sue Taaffe, Senior Management Assistant
Cathy Hollow, City Traffic Engineer
Shauna Warner, Neighborhood Program Manager
Eric Iwersen, Sustainability and Resilience Director
Abel Gunn, Transportation Financial Analyst
Isaac Chavira, Interim Deputy Engineering & Transportation Director
Lyle Begiebing, Transportation Planner
Dan Filippino, Senior Transportation Planner

Shelly Seyler, Interim Engineering & Transportation Director

Bonnie Richardson, Principal Planner Sam Stevenson, Transit Manager Chase Walman, Principal Planner Lindsay Post, Senior Transportation Planner Mike Hayes, Lieutenant Julian Dresang, City Engineer Ellie Volosin, Senior Civil Engineer Brenda Clark, Neighborhood Services Specialist

Guests Present:

John Federico Mckell Kenney

Commission Chair Amanda Nelson called the meeting to order at 7:32 a.m.

Agenda Item 1 - Public Appearances

Mckell Kenney commented on the Country Club Way Bike/Ped Project. She stated that she had concerns about property values declining as a result of the project and privacy issues. She requested that staff ensure that there is an adequate buffer between the path and private property. She also expressed her concerns with the number of trees that will be removed as part of the project.

Agenda Item 2 – Minutes

Amanda Nelson introduced the minutes of the December 12, 2023 meeting of the Transportation Commission and asked for a motion for approval.

Motion: Commissioner Dawn Hocking **Second:** Commissioner Stevie Milne

Decision: Approved by Commissioners

Stevie Milne Pam Goronkin
JC Porter Dawn Hocking
Paul Hubbell Claire Lauer
Amanda Nelson David King

Robert Miller

Abstain: David Sokolowski and Jacob Cox

Agenda Item 3 – Commission Business

Amanda Nelson introduced and welcomed Commissioners Lauer, Cox, Files and Bates. Each said a few words about themselves.

Agenda Item 4 – Commission Business

Amanda Nelson asked Commissioners for suggested nominations to consider for Chair and Vice Chair positions.

A motion was made to nominate Amanda Nelson to serve as Transportation Commission Chair.

Motion: Commissioner JC Porter **Second:** Commissioner Pam Goronkin

Decision: Approved by Commissioners

Stevie Milne Pam Goronkin
JC Porter Jacob Cox
Paul Hubbell Peter Schelstraete

Amanda Nelson David King
Robert Miller Kelsey Files
Claire Lauer David Sokolowski Jonathan Bates

A motion was made to nominate Dawn Hocking to serve as Transportation Commission Vice Chair.

Motion: Commissioner JC Porter **Second:** Commissioner Pam Goronkin

Decision: Approved by Commissioners

Stevie Milne Pam Goronkin
JC Porter Jacob Cox
Paul Hubbell Pater Scholater

Paul Hubbell Peter Schelstraete

Amanda Nelson David King

Robert Miller Kelsey Files
Claire Lauer Dawn Hocking
David Sokolowski Jonathan Bates

Amanda Nelson asked Commissioners to provide consensus to hold the 2024 Transportation Commission meetings on the first Tuesday of the month at 7:30 a.m. Discussion was had about moving the meeting to Wednesdays, but several Commissioners were not available on Wednesdays. The Commission decided to keep the meeting day and time on Tuesday at 7:30 a.m.

<u>Agenda Item 4 – Transit Program Update / Transit Satisfaction Performance Measure / Adding Dedicated Transit Lanes</u>

Sam Stevenson provided an update on the Transit Program Update, Transit Satisfaction Performance Measure, and Adding Dedicated Transit Lanes. Topics included:

- Transit program overview
- Cost and ridership
- Service changes update
- Transit satisfaction performance measure
- Transit prioritization strategies

Discussion included Prop 400E, unique riders, cost per rider, data in total number of miles travelled, market research, and bus shelters.

Commission requested that staff make a future presentation on transit prioritization strategies allowing for a formal vote.

Agenda Item 5 - All Pedestrian Phase Signal Mill Avenue and Fifth Street

Cathy Hollow and Ellie Volosin made a presentation on the status of the all pedestrian phase signal at Mill Avenue and Fifth Street. Topics included:

- Previous presentation
- Changes made since June
- Current operations
- Perspective for Police Department
- Response from businesses
- Next steps

Discussion included consensus on maintaining the all pedestrian phase signal at Mill Avenue and Fifth Street.

Agenda Item 6 - Vision Zero

Ellie Volosin and Mike Hayes updated that Commission on Tempe's Vision Zero efforts. Topics included:

- Major collision recap
- Vision Zero safety corridors
- Recent Vision Zero strategies
- Upcoming Vision Zero projects

Discussion included demographic patterns, signage, distracted driving and bicycle light distribution.

Agenda Item 7 – Department & Regional Transportation Updates

None

Agenda Item 8- Future Agenda Items

The following future agenda items have been previously identified by the Commission or staff:

- February 13
 - Country Club Way Bike/Ped Bridge over UPRR
 - o Prop 400 E
 - Scooter Corrals in Downtown
- March 12
 - o CIP Update
 - o TMA/TDM, Personal Delivery Devices
 - o Traffic Bureau Update
- April 9
 - Available public and ADA parking spaces in downtown
 - Protected Bike Lanes and How They Are Prioritized
 - Accessory Dwelling Units
- May 14
 - o Bike Hero
- June 11
 - Transportation Master Plan & Transportation Equity
 - College and University Underpass Project
- July 9
- August 13
- September 10
- October 8
- November 12
 - Annual Report
- December 10
- TBD: Western Canal (48th Street to I-10)
- TBD: Alameda Drive Streetscape Project (before and after) & Speed Data

The next meeting is scheduled for February 13, 2024. The meeting was adjourned at 9:19 a.m.

Prepared by: Sue Taaffe Reviewed by: Shelly Seyler