

CITY OF TEMPE HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION

Meeting Date: 04/19/2023

Agenda Item: 4

Memorandum

To: Historic Preservation Commission

From: Zachary J. Lechner, Historic Preservation Officer (ex. 8870, zachary_lechner@tempe.gov)

Date: April 12, 2023

Subject: Agenda Item #4, Introduction of New At-Large Members

On March 16, 2023, Tempe City Council approved the nominations of three individuals to fill the At-Large Member vacancies on the HPC. Their terms began on April 1. On behalf of the City of Tempe, the HPO warmly welcomes them to the Commission:

Erin Davis (serving a three-year term)

Commissioner Davis is an archaeologist by training who works as an Archaeological Compliance Specialist in the Arizona State Historic Preservation Office. She holds an M.A. in Archaeology and Heritage from the University of Leicester and has previously worked for the Gila River Indian Community and Navajo Nation. Also, for 25 years, she served as a professional archaeologist for cultural resource management firms. She has been a Tempe resident for 24 years. The Historic Preservation Office frequently consults with Ms. Davis on projects dealing with archaeology in the city.

Anders Engnell (serving a one-year term)

Commissioner Engnell is the Director of Planning & Development at Culdesac, where he has led the entitlement and construction of Culdesac Tempe, the first car-free neighborhood built from scratch in the United States. He holds a Master's in Urban & Regional Planning from the University of Southern California. He previously worked as the Executive Director of the Pontiac, Michigan-based Leaders of the Future 501c3 and spent one year on the redevelopment and resettlement team of the Housing Authority of the City of Los Angeles. In his HPC application, he stated, "I believe my experience in the nonprofit and private sectors of community development could make me a valuable asset to the [Commission] focused on maintaining, restoring, and advancing Tempe's rich built history." He has been a Tempe resident for three years.

Jean Robinson (serving a two-year term)

Commissioner Robinson is a design professional with over 35 years of experience as an architect, planner, designer, and project manager. She currently serves as the Historic Preservation Coordinator for Arizona State University (all campuses), where she has worked since 2013, as well as the Assistant Director of University Asset Management and a classroom instructor. She has previously held supervisory positions with New Mexico State University, Washburn University, and Treanor Associates in Lawrence, Kansas. Commissioner Robinson received bachelor's degrees in both architecture and environmental design from the University of Kansas. She has lived in Tempe for one year.

The attached document shows the HPC member roster as of April 1, 2023. You will notice that each new At-Large member's term is a different length. This is a result of a recently approved Council resolution designed to avoid having more than three Commission members' terms expire in any given year (this year, for instance, the terms of five of nine Commissioners expired, which is less than ideal). Commissioners Engnell and Robinson, who are serving one- and two-year terms, respectively, will be eligible to serve another two full three-year terms (pending Council approval) at the conclusion of their abbreviated terms. Commissioner Davis, who is serving a regular three-year term will be eligible to serve another three-year term (pending Council approval), per usual, before rotating off the Commission. The HPO used random selection to determine who would serve the one-, two-, and three-year terms.

ATTACHMENT:

List of Commission members and staff



Historic Preservation Commission

The Tempe Historic Preservation Commission advises the City Council in all matters concerning historic preservation. The mission of the Commission is to provide protection for significant properties and archaeological sites that represent important aspects of Tempe's heritage; to enhance the character of the community by taking such properties and sites into account during development; and, to assist owners in the preservation and restoration of their properties.

The Historic Preservation Commission also:

- Reviews applications for the designation of landmarks, historic properties, and historic districts and makes recommendations to the Development Review Commission and City Council.
- Reviews and makes decisions on applications for proposed alterations, new construction, demolition, or removal
 affecting landmarks, historic properties, or properties located within an historic district.
- Forwards recommendations to the appropriate decision-making body as a part of the staff report regarding the request.

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of nine members, meeting certain qualifications as set forth below, appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council:

- Three at-large members who are City residents with a demonstrated interest in or knowledge of historic preservation.
- Five professional members who are City residents drawn from the following disciplines, with no more than two such professionals from the same discipline: architecture, architectural history, archaeology, historic preservation law, history, landscape architecture, or other related field.
- One representative from the Four Southern Tribes Cultural Resource Working Group, who is responsible for nominating a designee.

Historic Preservation Commission members serve a term of three years, except that two of the initial members, upon appointment, are designated to serve terms of two years each. In addition, two other initial members are designated to serve first terms of one year. Those subsequently appointed serve regular terms of three years. The Commission conducts no fewer than four regular meetings in a calendar year and may call special meetings at the discretion of the Commission Chair or five or more members of the Commission. (City Code, Chapter 14A, Section 14A-3; Zoning and Development Code, Part 1, Chapter 3, Section 1-304)

| Name | Term Expires | |
|-----------------------|--------------|---|
| Engnell, Anders | 03/31/2024 | At-Large Member |
| Larson, Gregory | 03/31/2024 | Professional Member – Historic Preservation Law |
| Montero, Laurene | 03/31/2024 | Professional Member – Archaeology |
| Fackler, David (Dave) | 03/31/2025 | Professional Member – Architecture |
| Kurooka, Kiyomi | 03/31/2025 | Professional Member – Architecture |
| Robinson, Jean | 03/31/2025 | At-Large Member |
| Davis, Erin | 03/31/2026 | At-Large Member |
| Williams, Reylynne | 03/31/2026 | Four Southern Tribes Cultural Resource Working Group Representative |
| Woodson, Kyle | 03/31/2026 | Professional Member – Archaeology |

Staff Liaison:

Zachary J. Lechner, Ph.D., Senior Planner/Historic Preservation Officer (480) 350-8870