



MEETING MINUTES MAYOR'S COMMISSION ON DISABILITY CONCERNS MARCH 13, 2023

Minutes of the MAYOR'S COMMISSION ON DISABILITY CONCERNS meeting held on Monday, March 13, 2023, 6:30 p.m., In-person and Virtual meeting.

Members Present: Chair, Irene Mochel Vice Chair, Paul Kent Jacob Bunch Rachel Gomez Kathy Jefferson Jeff Oats Katherine Schmidt Members Absent: Robin DiMarino Julie Malloy

Staff Present:

- □ Ginny Belousek, Diversity Manager
- □ Velicia McMillan-Humes, Chief Diversity Officer

THE MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER AT 6:37 P.M.

1. CALL TO THE PUBLIC: NONE

2. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES – FEBRUARY 6, 2023 MINUTES

Motion: Approval of February 6, 2023 Minutes

Motion: Commissioner Jefferson

Second: Commissioner Oats

Motion: Carried with 7 Votes. Ayes: Chair Irene Mochel, Vice Chair Paul Kent, and Commissioners, Jacob Bunch, Rachel Gomez, Kathy Jefferson, Jeff Oats, and Katherine Schmidt. Nays: None. Absent: Commissioners Robin DiMarino and Julie Malloy.



3. Awards Selection and Event Discussion: 2023 Mayor's Disability Awards Event

Ginny reported that she has confirmed Higher Octave Healing as the entertainment at the event, and that the catering has been confirmed, with cookies, lemonade and water. The commission asked Chair Mochel to select the awards to be purchased. Ginny confirmed the money from the Diablos has been received and will be used for both scholarships and event expenses. Paul Kent secured the boutonnieres at no cost. The commission agreed to hold their regular meeting on April 3rd to review the assignments prior to the event. Ginny will check on the availability of the Carter Room at the TCA for the April meeting. The Commission then reviewed the award nominations and selected the winners. It was decided to monetarily award the Exceptional Teacher winners \$500 each, and the Outstanding High School Students \$300 each. The speaker will receive a \$500 honorarium.

NEXT MEETING: MONDAY, APRIL 3, 2023

Location: TBD

- 1. Mayor's Disabilities Awards
- 2. Coyotes May meeting

Motion: Adjourn the meeting

Motion: Comm. Katherine Schmidt

Second: Comm. Oats

Motion: Carried with 7 Votes. Ayes: Chair Irene Mochel, Vice Chair Paul Kent, and Commissioners, Jacob Bunch, Rachel Gomez, Kathy Jefferson, Jeff Oats, and Katherine Schmidt. Nays: None. Absent: Commissioners Robin DiMarino and Julie Malloy.

MEETING ADJOURNED AT 8:00 PM