Skip to page body Home What's New Residents Visitors Businesses City Hall How Do I... About Tempe Get Involved!

"Our mission is to provide professional counseling and mediation services to the Tempe
community in an effort to promote individual, family, and community wellness."


Tempe Social Services Counseling Program is a state licensed outpatient mental health facility located in the Tempe Public Library. Our licensed therapists treat individuals, couples, children adolescents, and families. The services are strictly confidential.


Treatment is available for:

  • Parent/Child Issues
  • Partner Relationship Problems
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Stress
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Grief/Loss
 
  • Trauma
  • Domestic Violence
  • Eating Disorders
  • Substance Abuse
  • Self-Harm
  • Life Transitions
  • Other Emotional and Behavioral Issues

  • Eligibility, Fees, and Hours

    City of Tempe residents and families that have children enrolled in a school within City boundaries are eligible for services if they do not have other resources such as insurance or AHCCCS.

    Fees are $5 - $40 per session based on family size and income.

    Office hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

    Location

    Social Services Office
    Tempe Public Library (2nd floor)
    3500 South Rural Road
    Tempe, AZ 85282

    Phone: 480-350-5400
    Fax: 480-350-5431


    Mediation Services

    The Counseling Program provides mediation services to Tempe residents to assist in the resolution of conflicts between neighbors and assist in the settling of disputes among individuals or community groups who have reached an impasse in communication. Proven conflict resolution techniques are applied within a neutral environment where participants can have their concerns and feelings listened to and respected.

    There are no fees for mediation services. Meetings take place at the Social Services office in the Tempe Public Library. Meetings are usually one hour in length and solutions are usually achieved within one or two meetings. Phone 480-350-5400.


    Useful Links
    Arizona Information and Referral: www.cirs.org
    Alcohol and Drug Information (prevention): www.ncadi.samhsa.gov
    Alcoholics Anonymous: www.alcoholics-anonymous.org
    American Psychological Association: www.apa.org  
    Behavioral Health Link: www.hs.state.az.us/bhs/bhlinks.htm  
    Birth to Five Help Line: www.swhd.org  
    Crime Victims: www.azdps.gov  
    Health Information for Parents, Kids, and Teens: www.kidshealth.org  
    Mental Health: www.mentalhealth.org  
    Narcotics Anonymous: www.narcoticsanonymous.org  
    National Mental Health Association: www.nmha.org  
    Parents Anonymous: www.parentsanonymous.org  
    Planned Parenthood: www.plannedparenthood.org  
    Surgeon General: www.surgeongeneral.gov  
    Teen Girls: www.iemily.com  
    Teens: www.teengrowth.com  

    Last updated: 5/4/2012 10:59:51 AM