



There are several automatic and discretionary disqualifiers for employment as a Tempe Police Dispatcher. Individuals who do not meet these minimum standards will not be considered for employment.

## Arizona Peace Officer Standards & Training (POST) Board Automatic Disqualifiers

A person shall meet the following AzPOST minimum qualifications:

- 1. Be a United States citizen;
- 2. Be a high school graduate or have successfully completed a General Education Development (GED) examination;
- 3. Undergo a complete background investigation;
- 4. Undergo a polygraph examination;
- 5. Undergo a medical examination;
- 6. Not have been convicted of a felony or any offense that would be a felony if committed in Arizona;
- 7. Not have been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces;
- 8. Not have been previously denied certified status, have certified status revoked or have current certified status suspended;
- 9. Not have illegally sold, produced, cultivated or transported for sale marijuana;
- 10. Not have illegally used marijuana for any purpose within the past 3 years;
- 11. Not have ever illegally used marijuana more than 5 times since the age of 21 years other than for experimentation;
- 12. Not have ever illegally used marijuana more than 20 times or other than for experimentation;
- 13. Not have ever illegally used marijuana while employed or appointed as a peace officer;
- 14. Not have illegally sold, produced, cultivated or transported for sale a dangerous drug or narcotic;
- 15. Not have illegally used a dangerous drug or narcotic, other than marijuana, for any purpose within the past 7 years;
- 16. Not have used any of the listed dangerous drugs or narcotic drugs in the past 7 years List: cocaine; crack cocaine; heroin; opium; morphine (unless prescribed); LSD or acid; methamphetamines or speed; peyote (except during religious ceremonies); hashish; mescaline, spice or a derivative thereof; hallucinogenic (mushrooms); bath salts; or steroids (unless prescribed);
- 17. Not have ever illegally used a dangerous drug or narcotic in any combination more than 5 times; more than 1 time since the age of 21 years; or other than for experimentation;
- 18. Not have used or tried any illegal, dangerous drug or narcotic drug by injection more than 3 times or more than 1 time since the age of 21 years:
- 19. Not have ever illegally used a dangerous drug or narcotic while employed or appointed as a peace officer;
- 20. Not have a pattern of abuse of prescription medication;
- 21. Not have been convicted of or adjudged to have violated traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles with a frequency within the past 3 years that indicates a disrespect for traffic laws or a disregard for the safety of other persons on the highway

## **Tempe Police Department Discretionary Disqualifiers**

A person shall meet the following additional Tempe Police Department minimum qualifications:

- 1. Undergo a psychological evaluation;
- 2. Not have used, tried or experimented with prescription medication for nonmedical purposes (reason other than prescribed) more than 5 times:
- 3. Not have used, tried or experimented with prescription medication for nonmedical purposes (reason other than prescribed) for any reason in the past 3 years;
- 4. Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor or any offense that would be considered a misdemeanor if committed in the state of Arizona in the past 3 years;
- 5. Not been convicted of a crime under a domestic violence statute resulting in becoming a prohibited possessor of firearms;
- 6. Not have committed or violated any federal, state or municipal law or code pertaining to criminal activity while employed as a peace officer;
- 7. Not been terminated or resigned in lieu of termination as a peace officer in the past 5 years;
- 8. Not have engaged in unlawful sexual misconduct;
- 9. Not have had driver license privileges suspended in Arizona or any state in the past 3 years;
- 10. Not been convicted or found responsible for 3 or more motor vehicle traffic violations in the past 1 year;
- 11. Not been convicted in Arizona or any state for DUI in the past 5 years