Studio Artists Program

Home page iconThe Studio Artists Program is a partnership between Tempe Elementary District #3 and the city of Tempe. The Studio Artists Program provides art instruction for 4th/5th grade students within the Tempe Elementary School District. Each artist visits fourth or fifth grade classrooms, spending a total of four hours with each class. The children and the teacher participate in a hands-on experience that focuses on that artist’s particular area of expertise. Artists in the program live and work in the Phoenix Metropolitan area and bring their personal creative experience to the teaching process in the classrooms. The participating artists are given studio spaces to use for the development of their own artwork.

The Studio Artists Program aims to inspire students to achieve more in the arts as they pursue their education and life. Artists introduce students and teachers to creative and relevant arts activities. This unique partnership offers students an opportunity to expand their understanding of the arts and interact with a professional artist from our community.

Artists teach workshops to students and teachers, and the District provides studio space to the artists.

For information on the program, contact Pat Burdette at 480-897-6063 x 5295. View childrens' artwork from recent workshops.

Receive announcements for openings in the Studio Artists Program. Join the Education list. 


Studio Artists visit fourth and fifth grade classrooms and conduct the following workshops in their fields of expertise. 

Art and design with George Heslop  

Mask Making with Kirby Soderberg 

Perspective with Candice Eisenfeld

Self-Portrait with a Twist with Sue Norton-Scott 

Street Painting with Deanne Hale Beachler


Click on a name to learn about each artist. 

George Heslop 

Candice Eisenfeld 

Sue Norton Scott 

Kirby Soderberg 

Past Artists

Deb Salac-Ashforth, 1998-2002
Kelly Barrett, 1999-2001
Deanne Beachler, 2009-2012
Jennifer Bortz
Cyndi Coon, 2000
Crystal M. Daigle
Phoebe Edge
Jeff Falk, 2000-2001
Niki Glen
Carolyn Golden, 2000-2002
Kimberly Henkel
Marcia McClellan
Lydia Miszuk


Doree Nissenblatt
Patricia Pawlicki
Carol Panaro-Smith, 1997-1999
Emily Puthoff
Red Rohall
Darleen Romero-Deal, 2001-2003
Beth Royalty, 2000-2004
Gretchen Schermerhorn
Linda Shearer-Whiting, 1998-2001
Elena Sniezek
Terry Surjan, 2000
Sam Swail

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.