Park Locations and Amenities

Cole 2  
Cole Park, built in 1969, is south of the US 60 and adjacent to the Bustoz Elementary School. The park was renovated in 2006 and now includes a shaded play area along with a small climbing wall. 
The park is named in honor of W.W. “Billie” Cole who served as Tempe's mayor from 1937-1948. Billie served during what is arguably one of the most trying times in both Tempe and the United States during both the Great Depression and World War II. 

His family came to Tempe from the Payson area in the early part of the 20th Century. His father, Louis Pinkney Cole, was a well known rancher in the Payson are before moving the family to Tempe. The Cole’s purchased the Woolf House, 105 E. 9th Street, in 1916 after the passing of the previous owner. The Cole family lived in the house for over 50 years until it was dismantled in 1972 and moved to Old Towne Square, 150 S. Ash, just north of the Depot Cantina. 

To date, Cole’s 11 years as Tempe Mayor ranks as one of the longest terms served. Considering the period served, it stands as a significant accomplishment and so too, does Cole Park in recognition of his past contributions to our community. 

Park size is 37 acres
Return to full list >>